Picture
On December 2, 2012 (exactly two months ago) I lost a high school classmate to cancer—leukemia to be exact.  I remember precisely how I heard the news.  It was a Sunday morning. I had managed to wake up, find my glasses that I had tossed off the night before, and was beginning to do my morning scan of the news (Facebook news that is).  As I sat on my bed, still in sweats and hair a mess, I felt a knot in my stomach and my heart begin to race. Post after post revealed that something went wrong—something wasn’t right.  “Prayers for Courtney” and “Stay strong” repeated over and over on my newsfeed as more old classmates heard the same news I was reading and tried to express their concern, support, and hope to our friend Courtney.  A text message confirmed my biggest fear; the fight was over.

Courtney was diagnosed with AML, a cancer of the blood and bone marrow, on December 24, 2010, our senior year of high school.  Following her diagnosis, she underwent four rounds of chemotherapy over the span of six months.  During that time our community came together and decided not to let her face the fight alone.

 Along with a group of about twenty other students of Waynesboro Area Senior High School, I helped to plan and host our first ever miniTHON, a fundraising event based off of Penn State’s THON which raises millions of dollars for pediatric cancer every year.  The Art Club designed and sold t-shirts and bracelets to help raise funds and awareness of leukemia.  This was the closest I can remember ever seeing our student body, and it was great.

BORO miniTHON was the second major fundraising event I had ever taken part in and probably the most influential in my desire to pursue a career in the non-profit world.  While I was not close friends with Courtney during high school, it was a small school of 1,200 students and I knew exactly who she was and I learned so much more about her throughout her fight with cancer.  Courtney truly was an inspiration to me. I followed her journey via Facebook and newspaper articles and could never get over the fact that every status she made or picture she posted was 100% positive.  Still today, looking back, I remember her smile more than anything.

Perhaps my fondest memory of Courtney’s journey occurred on the night of our high school graduation.  During our commencement we were told that in order to give every student their moment of recognition, applause was to be held until the end of the ceremony, and for the most part that happened.  That is, until Courtney’s name was called.  As she walked on to the stage I saw one of the most amazing moments of my life take place.  The entire crowd of relatives, friends, administrators, teachers, and faculty were on their feet and the applause boomed throughout the gymnasium. It was recognition deserved by a hero—our hero.

Now, two months since Courtney’s battle ended I find it most important to look back and remember. Remember the closeness our community felt working together to help another. Remember the strength she had that allowed her to keep a smile on her face no matter what cancer threw at her. Remember the admiration felt in witnessing an everyday hero. Remember how lucky I was to know Courtney Sprenkle.


Kailah Buckwalter
2/2/2013 03:12:06 am

Out of all of the blogs of our class, I think yours will be the most emotional. You are good at tapping into people's emotions. Keep up the good work!

Reply
Nick Thrailkill
2/2/2013 08:50:49 am

Jocelyn, this was a very powerful and moving story and I find your blog intriguing and important. Good job!

Reply
PaganismforDummies
2/3/2013 04:51:41 am

Very moving. It's amazing that a whole community can come together to support one person in the fight of their life.

Reply
2/3/2013 07:18:07 am

I'm glad you are sharing personal stories on this blog, because it just wouldn't have the same effect without it. Very moving!

Reply
CAHenicle
3/5/2013 11:41:52 pm

CONGRATS on a well written blog. Proud to have been your second grade teacher. Continued success to you in college and best wishes in your chosen career!

Reply



Leave a Reply.